Navigate / search

Learn Swahili

Taken from

Swahili, also known as Kiswahili (translation: coast language), is a Bantu language and the first language of the Swahili people. It is a lingua franca of the African Great Lakes region and other parts of eastern and south-eastern Africa, including TanzaniaKenyaUgandaRwandaBurundiMozambique, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC).

Estimates of the total number of Swahili speakers vary widely, from 50-100 million. Swahili serves as a national language of four nations: Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, and the DRC. A significant fraction of Swahili vocabulary is derived from Arabic through contact with Arabic-speaking Muslim inhabitants of the Swahili Coast.

Basic Vocabulary:

Asante = Thank you

Asante sana = Thank you very much

Ndio = Yes

Hapana = No

Jambo = Hello

Kwaheri = Goodbye

Habari za asubuhi = Good morning

Learn Swahili resources:

  • Duolingo app- free, download it on your phone or use it online!